Dr. Craig McClainCraig McClain became the sixth Executive Director of the Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium on July 1, 2016. Regarded as a nationally recognized marine, ecological, and evolutionary biologist, McClain brings more than 20 years of experience in oceanographic research and has published more than 60 scientific articles contributing to our knowledge of the oceans and how life works. McClain’s research primarily centers on marine systems, particularly the biology of body size, biodiversity, and energy flow focusing often on the deep sea. He has led and participated in oceanographic expeditions to some of the most remote regions of the world.

McClain has served in multiple leadership positions including: Assistant Director of Science for The National Evolutionary Synthesis Center, Deputy Director for the Triangle Center of Evolutionary Medicine at Duke University, President of the Deep-Sea Biology Society, Chief Editor for the online ocean news site Deep-Sea News, Subject Editor for PLoS One, and Associate Editor for the Proceedings of the Royal Society, B.

McClain believes in the power of scientific communication. He serves as a social media trainer and a consultant for scientists, providing insight on best practices to effectively engage the public with scientific information.  McClain is also the founder and chief editor of Deep-Sea News (DSN), a top-rated ocean-themed blog and social media network which has been featured in both local and national media outlets including Science Illustrated, Charlotte Observer, MSNBC, Fox News, Discovery Channel, and National Geographic. McClain has served as a consultant to ABC News, Wired, Talk Nation Radio, Forbes, and National Public Radio. His work has also appeared in the Columbia Journalism Review.

McClain has strong ties to Louisiana and LUMCON, as his career as a marine biologist began during his undergraduate participation in LUMCON summer courses in invertebrate zoology and marine ecology.


Nancy RabalaisDr. Nancy Rabalais
Executive Director 2005 – 2016

Kerry St. PéDr. Kerry St. Pé
Interim Administrator 2002 – 2005

Michael DaggDr. Michael Dagg
Executive Director 1996 – 2001
Interim Director 1995 – 1996
Interim Director 1990 – 1991

Paul SammarcoDr. Paul Sammarco
Executive Director 1991 – 1995

Don BoeschDr. Don Boesch
Executive Director 1980 – 1990