Loading...
Faculty 2017-09-13T07:07:28+00:00

FACULTY

In addition to facilitating the research activities of state and federal personnel, university and college faculty, and non-profit organizations, LUMCON supports faculty based at the DeFelice Marine Center.

DEFELICE MARINE CENTER FACULTY

Abigail BockusDr. Abigail Bockus
Assistant Professor
abockus@lumcon.edu
985-851-2887
Interests: fish physiology, marine finfish aquaculture, digestion and feed enhancement, physiological ecology of invertebrates and fishes, and environmental adaptations.

Marshall BowlesDr. Marshall Bowles
Assistant Professor
mbowles@lumcon.edu
985-851-2819
Interests: geomicrobiology and microbial ecology, especially understanding how microbial communities function and influence geochemical cycles in the coastal and open ocean.

Dr. Edward Chesney
Associate Professor
echesney@lumcon.edu
985-851-2838
Interests: fisheries and fish ecology, especially as they relate to the early life history or larval stages of fish.

Alex KolkerDr. Alex Kolker
Associate Professor
akolker@lumcon.edu
985-851-2837
Interests: geological oceanography, impacts of climate change, sediment dynamics in the coastal zone, groundwater flow in river deltas, coastal restoration.

Craig McClainDr. Craig McClain
Executive Director/Associate Professor
cmcclain@lumcon.edu
985-851-2801
Interests: the biology of body size, biodiversity, and energy flow, focusing often on the deep sea.

Nancy RabalaisDr. Nancy Rabalais
Distinguished Research Professor
nrabalais@lumcon.edu
985-851-2836
Interests: biological oceanography, continental shelf ecosystems influenced by large rivers, benthic ecology, distribution and dynamics of hypoxia, eutrophication, environmental effects of habitat alterations, and integration of science and policy.

Guillaume RieucauDr. Guillaume Rieucau
Assistant Professor
grieucau@lumcon.edu
985-223-7421
Interests: fish ecology and behavior, especially  understanding how predation, environmental conditions, anthropogenic disturbances, and fisheries affect the behavior of fish species in marine and estuarine ecosystems.

Brian RobertsDr. Brian Roberts
Associate Director of Science/Associate Professor/REU Program Director
broberts@lumcon.edu
985-851-2821
Interests: ecosystem ecology and biogeochemistry; broad focus on how human activities influence the ability of ecosystems to retain and transform carbon, nutrients, and energy and how restoration activities may help ameliorate some of these impacts.

EMERITUS FACULTY

Paul SammarcoDr. Paul Sammarco
Executive Director/Professor